Nazi Punks F**k Off: A Green Room review


Directed by Jeremy Saulnier

Starring: Patrick Stewart, Anton Yelchin, Imogin Poots, Macon Blair

I didn’t get to see Green Room in the cinema, thanks to a very limited cinema release it just wasn’t possible. I had heard good word of mouth and dug Saulniers previous two films so I wanted to see this one as soon as it’s home video release came around. It’s only ended up being one of my films of the year.

Centred around punk band ‘The Ain’t Rights’, who accept a gig in a backwater Oregon bar which just happens to be a Neo-Nazi clubhouse. What the band find in the clubs green room sets in motion one of the most brutal, intelligently written and entertaining thrillers I have seen in years.

Directed by Jeremy Saulnier, the man who brought us the wonderfully fun shoestring horror-comedy pic ‘Murder Party’ and the breakout sleeper hit ‘Blue Ruin’, Saulnier has really found his groove with his third feature. The direction is confident and assured, handling his cast expertly, coaxing memorable performances from the likes of Stewart, Yelchin and Poots with backup from his perennial collaborator Macon Blair delivering a great support turn. Saulnier is fast becoming one of my favourite directors, he may not be the go-to box office draw kind of director, but in his first 3 films, he has totally succeeded in grabbing and maintaining my attention whilst thoroughly entertaining me.

If you enjoy a good thriller then I would certainly advise giving this a whirl. Not only is it a good movie but I would also call it one of the best I have seen this year.

Leave a Reply

