Top 10: Films of the year 2016

2016 has been a great year for movies, so great a year that I had a struggle on my hands putting together a Top 5 for fear of criminally leaving out something awesome. Only allowing myself 10 picks, there are some films that have just missed the list which include the fantastic Spotlight, the ridiculously fun Star Trek:Beyond, Ron Howard’s Beatles: Eight Days A Week and the trendiest film to hate this year, Suicide Squad which I actually quite enjoyed. With that in mind, here’s my Top 10 films of 2016.

Honourable Mention: The Girl With All The Gifts.


This classy Brit thriller is a novel take on the zombie genre that delivered something different from the usual gut munching turn out. A very welcome surprise.

10: Green Room.


This magnificent indie thriller sees a punk band under siege from Neo-Nazis. It was handled remarkably well by director Jeremy Saulnier who with this film definitely set himself up as one to watch in the future if his early features are this darn good.

9: 10 Cloverfield Lane.


A spiritual sequel to the 2008 film Cloverfield, not direct but more sharing the same DNA, it was a tense, brilliantly paced thriller with killer performances from John Goodman and Mary Elizabeth Winsted. 

8: Arrival.


This elegantly presented piece of intelligent sci-fi drama stunned cinema goers when It arrived late this year with amazing turns by Amy Adams and Jeremy Renner. I will be shocked if this film doesn’t collect some well deserved plaudits this award season.

7: The Big Short.


This film concerning the 2007 financial crisis told that story with a humour that was surprising and very welcome with such a heavy topic, particularly cutting to people like Margot Robbie to explain complex financial terms was a stroke of comedic genius.

6: The Hateful Eight.


All the way back from the beginning of January, Tarantino’s latest offering was brilliant. Yet another return to a western for Tarantino, but when he does them this well, I don’t mind one bit.

5: The Witch. 


This eerie drama released back in March impressed the hell out of me, a great cast, a well written and tightly wound story and a fantastic goat, what more do you want in a film?! In all seriousness, this debut from Robert Eggers marked him out as one to watch in the future.

4: Deadpool.


I really wanted this film to be good, instead it was flat out brilliant. Perfectly cast, very well written and not afraid to pull any punches, Deadpool wasn’t going to be a film for the easily offended, an absolute tonic for those who feel deluged by cookie-cutter comic book movies.

3: The Invitation.


A film that was completely off my radar until I was recommended it on Netflix. I’m very glad I did, it is fantastic. A slow burn classy thriller with a twist and ending to die for. Seriously, check this film out, you won’t be disappointed.

2: The Nice Guys.


It didn’t take much convincing to watch this buddy cop comedy from the master of buddy cop comedies, Shane Black. Laced with his trademark flare for delivering on a well written story with a great cast and hilarious dialogue. The unlikely partnership of Ryan Gosling & Russel Crowe was an absolute stroke of genius as the two bounce off each other so well.

1: I, Daniel Blake.


For me my top spot couldn’t be anything else this year. I, Daniel Blake is Ken Loach firing on all cylinders, a brave, sensitivity handled and important film that I would be shocked if it doesn’t receive a lot of attention this coming awards season. If you are a citizen of the U.K.,seeing this film is an absolute must.

7 thoughts on “Top 10: Films of the year 2016

      1. That sound awesome, what’s your email address and what would you actually want from me? This will be my first time contributing and don’t really know what’s expected of me.

        Like

      2. You can find all of my contact info in my ‘about me’. Basically, we’re an open platform so you can post whatever you want as well as when you want. All we do is help writers improve their articles (if they ask for it) and then promote their stories on our social channels afterward.

        Like

Leave a Reply

