Top TV Shows of 2016

As with film, 2016 has been a fantastic year for television and as with film, it’s far too difficult for me to just give my Top 5 without leaving something out. So, with that in mind, here’s my Top 10 TV shows of 2016.

Honourable Mention: 11-22-63


This 8 part TV adaptation of the Stephen King novel was an absolute treat. A time travel thriller that was wonderfully realised and kept me hooked all the way through.

10: Orange Is The New Black. 


OITNB this year entered its 4th season and the quality in the writing and the performances of its cast have not diminished in the slightest. Dealing with some pretty heavy stuff this season and an absolute gut punch of a finale, this show keeps moving in leaps & bounds.

9: Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.


I only started watching this show this year after hearing that it was created by Tina Fey. Now on its 2nd season, it has found its groove and continues to be a funny and infectiously entertaining proposition. 

8: Better Call Saul.


Better Call Saul never had an easy task from the off, having to live up to one of the greatest TV shows of all time is no mean feat, it has succeeded in its first 2 seasons in standing on its own two feet as a damn fine show in its own right.

7: Black Mirror.

With a move to Netflix for its 3rd Season and an increase in season length, the quality in writing and ideas has not diminished one bit, if anything this years season has actually been the shows strongest so far.

6: Transparent.


Another show that I only started watching this year, it is clear to see why this show has garnered so much praise. A brave, unflinching, funny and utterly charming tale of a dysfunctional family dealing with the reality of their patriarch coming out as transgender. Sensitively handled and beautifully written, this show is flying right now.

5: Preacher.


This show had a hell of a lot to live up to for me. Based on one of my favourite comic books of all time, I was always going to be quite critical of Preacher. I was massively relieved to find a great approach that wasn’t completely beholden to the source material and was confident enough and well written enough to stand on its own feet. 

4:  Mr Robot.


I finally got around to watching this show this year and I am so glad I did. An intelligent and massively addictive affair with tremendous performances, particularly from lead Rami Malek.

3: Game Of Thrones.


I’m as surprised as anyone that this wasn’t at the top of my list this year, and any lesser year it probably would have been because it is consistently fantastic. Every season it takes us through the emotional gamut and leaves us wanting more, now as we come to its inevitable end the strength of its writing and performances is damn near faultless.

2: Stranger Things.


What a year for debut seasons! My Top 2 spots are both taken by brand new shows that have completely blown me away. Stranger things ticked so many boxes for me, the setting, the score, the cast, the nostalgia and nods to popular culture. A perfect first season and I can not wait to see where they take it next as it really has its work cut out to stay as good as this.

1: Westworld.


There was only really going to be one top spot for me this year, it was clear to me after only a few episodes that Westworld was on a completely other level to anything else out there right now. Want to know more? I got ya, season 1 review to follow 😉

Leave a Reply

